image

image

The pictures arent great I apologize. The subject of this post is a small printing error on one of the 1988 Topps Football cards. I was organizing most of my extra cards one night and I came across this little difference. Take a look at the first picture. Ive taken a picture of the specific spot at which I want you to look at. If you dont know where Ill point it out. The area between the helmet and the name. I once opened a cello pack box of this set and I just now noticed this. Like I said its a small difference, not enough for me to say “Oh look at that a variation!” no… back to the subject. The second picture (The Bottom)  contains a yellow spot in the space I described: between the helmet and name.

Now what is it I have here? Thats exactly what I asked myself when I saw this. A variation? A fake? hmmm…… Not really sure. Why would anyone fake a 1988 topps Dwight Stone? Was he a well known guy back then? But then you must also remember that I said I got this out of a cello pack box so it cant be a fake unless Topps was making fakes on purpose. I have about 5 extras of these and each of them have that yellow spot… ON THE SAME EXACT LOCATION!!!!. Also Id like to add that each “spot” looks exactly the same.  The one I have in my 1988 Topps binder is the one without the spot.

So I’ll leave it to you to decide: Do I have a variation or a misprint? and if so which is the “error/variant” Card A (the top) or Card B (The Bottom)?

